QUESTION OF THE WEEK – WEEK 10

6 Nov

This week’s Question of the Week is simple. Write a 150-200 word response to the following question: “What is your favorite album (CD/record/etc.) of all time, and why?”

Your response must include a link to at least one source (a review, an analysis, etc.) to an article about the album of your choosing, and you must incorporate something from that source into your response to this QOTW to receive credit for doing it.

Your response to this QOTW is due by the time class starts on Friday, Nov. 11.

15 Responses to “QUESTION OF THE WEEK – WEEK 10”

  1. GInger Minock November 7, 2011 at 1:03 am #

    http://www.contactmusic.com/album-review/rihanna-loud.
    Rihanna’s Cd Loud is my all time favorite Cd, Why you may ask? It came out in a time in my life that I could relate to. When I hear her sing my two favorite songs “Stupid In Love” and “Cold Case Love” I feel like she is singing it for me. This is also the first Cd I have ever listened to that I actually purchased because I enjoyed the enitre Cd. I think she is an amazing singer and I enjoy her music, you can connect with it and she is not just singing what the producers are tellinger her to sing. When I listen to her music it is like I escape from reality and submerge into another time. She is by far the most amazing singer I have ever heard. Unlike Maria Carry she stays true to who she is in my eyes. I strongly suggest you give it a chance. I lvoe music and this is a wonderful CD.

  2. Norm Vernier November 11, 2011 at 12:17 am #

    My taste in music changes from time to time. I enjoy alot of different kinds of music, like rock,metal,feel good music.oldies,rhythm and blues (R&B). It would be hard to single out one song or artist as my favorite.
    At this time of the year, mid November is firearm deer season in Michigan.November 15 is opening day for deer hunters,in northern Michigan they treat this day as a local holiday, many school are closed, thousands of hunters are gearing up for deer season.
    My favorite group is “Da Yoopers”, a signing group from the U.P. has a local hit called “The Second Week of Deer Camp”.
    Here is a link to the Da Yoopers.
    http://dayoopers.com/
    This local band is funny and very much rednecks, Deer camps all through the U.P. have on the Da Yoopers in the cabins, tents, campers, or even if your staying with Uncle Jed and Aunt Mildred you should listen to Da Yoopers at least one time during deer season.
    This lyric is what deer hunting is all about.
    We really don’t do alot of deer hunting, this is what we do;”We drink,play cards,and shot the bull/But never shot no deer!”
    For a couple weeks in November this is my favorite artist.

  3. Cora Grimaldi November 11, 2011 at 12:19 am #

    http://www.ew.com/ew/article/0,,20214813,00.html
    The Sugarland album Love on the Inside is one of my favorite albums of all times. Although I am not a huge country fan, Sugarland can really reach out to me. This album has songs that I can relate to, cry to, and ones that just make me want to get up and dance. Jennifer Nettles, the song writer/ lead singer put her heart and soul in this album, but mainly she put her personal experiences and past into this album. I love this album because it reminds me of my sister who I am extremely close with. I first bought this CD in ’09 before I went on my first big road trip by myself to visit my sister up at Central Michigan to visit her. I listened to this CD the whole way through and there wasn’t one song I loved. Every time I listen to it now I it reminds me of my sister and what a fun trip that was!

  4. Julie Blattler November 11, 2011 at 2:26 am #

    “North” by Something Corporate would probably be my favorite album. Which is no surprise, considering it’s by my favorite band. Most of the songs have this calming appeal to them and they always trigger a deep thought process, especially when I’m having a bad day, which is good because I like to think about the problems I’m having, rather than push them into the back of my mind. When I’m not having problems or worries, the music provides comfort and relaxation. I can relate to the music in some way. I love how every song incorporates piano, whether it’s a slower song or a more upbeat one. Andrew McMahon’s voice is so soothing and filled with passion for each song he sings. Contrary to what this review http://www.sputnikmusic.com/review/137/Something-Corporate-North/ says, I never get old of the music nor Andrew’s voice. I like how there’s not as much diversity to the songs. I like the band because I like the music. If the music were to change, it wouldn’t truly be the same band.

  5. Eunishia Hooks November 11, 2011 at 4:31 am #

    “It will Rain” by Bruno Mars is my favorite song this year. It help relaxes my mind and body. Not only does it help me get through sad, rainy days when I’m lonely but it also reminds me of the passionate relationships I’ve been involved in in my past. The lyrics of this song are very powerful, and consoling. Bruno Mars is a unique artist. I love his style and im in love with his music. He speaks from his heart and it’s expressed through his lyrics for example “Grenade”. This song portrays that he’ll do anything for his love, even the deadliest things. I can relate to many of his love songs especially “It will Rain” because I’ve been in that situation before where my significant other walked out and the only thing I remember was the rain that washed away the foot prints in the muddy driveway. Bruno Mars is an extremely successful young man from Waukiki Hawaii http://www.brunomars.com stated that he won “Best New Artist” at the MTV Awards. I love his loud unexpected style and his slick curly hair. All in all his music touches my heart and I’ll be listening to his songs until he gets boring, but I highly doubt it.

  6. Briana Lack November 11, 2011 at 5:23 pm #

    My favorite Cd would have to be Hanson’s first album that came out in May 1998 called Middle of nowhere. i was very young but the moment i heard their song mmmbop, i fall in love with the band. My sister was always obbessed with the band, so i got the cd from her.Even as a kid i related to their songs. Hanson was a huge band for young teens in the late 90’s. They had many hit songs, and girls were falling in love with them over the years. Hanson won best song of the year in 1997 for mmmbop at the Europe award show. They also won best new artist that same year at the MTV music video awards. http://www.metrolyrics.com/hanson-awards-featured.html. Hanson has been trying to come out with new songs in the past few years, and nothing has ever made it as big as their first cd. I will still be listening to them years from, they are good looking boys with a really catchy tune. People would be lying if they said whenever they heard the song mmmbop they didnt want to get up and dance. They were the 90’s.

  7. Chad Koenig November 11, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

    It’s very hard to choose one album to stand out as my favorite, it took some time before I was actually able to come up with something. Even though I am a big jazz fan I decided to go with Radiohead’s OK Computer. I know that it is not an original choice considering it was #3 on Rolling Stone’s top 100 albums of the 90’s. It is one of the few albums that I can listen to all the way through without skipping tracks. It has made probably more rounds in my cd player than any other album. Their sound was so unique that nowadays I hear a song that I would swear is them, only to find out that it is another artist. I love anything that is not mainstream pop, something that stands out among all the other generic bullshit, even though Radiohead has quite a following. They will always be one of my favorite bands. I have been fortunate enough to see them live, it is a memory I will never forget.
    http://www.rollingstone.com/music/albumreviews/ok-computer-19970710

  8. Mark Ryan Beyer November 11, 2011 at 9:41 pm #

    Wow that’s really hard to pick just one cd… I have so many favorites one that really sticks out though would be Tupac All Eyes on me double cd. This cd really influenced the hip hop nation so to speak. This cd was really real everything Pac talks about is raw real to the point making this a very powerful cd. This came out after him being institutionalized in Clinton, New York. I was 15 when this cd hit big and will never forget how real and deep this cd truely was. To this day this cd is still one of the best in hip hop hands down if not the best. What seperates this from the others is that Pac was real he lived it, loved it, kissed it, hugged it. He died though from his ignorance I believe. He would not stop creating beef between himself and others. He was referred to as the duke. http://www.mtv.com/news/articles/ 16706… Tupac was a great artist just wish he could have changed his ways to produce more great hip hop

  9. Gina Zamora November 11, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

    My favorite album ever is Beyonce’s new album “4 Lyrics” the album released this year and it is by far one of the greatest things I have ever listened to. Not only does this cd play in my car, it also tags a long with me on my playlist at the gym. The album contains love songs, party songs, and over all girl power songs. I believe her voice gives women hope, as dumb as that may sound, she’s the reason we’re all so confident and sassy. “1+1” is a sad romantic song while “best thing I never had” teaches you that even though you love somebody so much and you never act upon it, it can be a good thing. “countdown” is for women in relationships who love their man, it’s a very powerful, mood lifting song.

    The last song on her album is the one that made me love her, “run the world (girls)”. She is such an inspiring female and she makes girls like me feel awesome about ourselves.

  10. Ryan Tavarez November 11, 2011 at 9:53 pm #

    Man, My favorite album of all time still by in large is “places like this” by Architecture in Helsinki. I have never heard an album like this before, it has the ability to make my heart race, my foot stomp, and my head to bang. The combination of animal noises, synthboards, and trumpets just all in all make my musical heart quiver…no seriously the first time I heard the album I was on a energy drink binge/ 48hr all nighter. I honestly thought my heart was going to explode…However, some pompous ass hats (seen here http://pitchfork.com/reviews/albums/10579-places-like-this/) seem to think that their over abundance in style in energy is a bad thing. It seems to others that while this may have been a low point in AiH career, I believe it to be their greatest album yet. It kinda reminds me of all the hater who dislike Good News For People Who Love Bad News by Modest mouse…bunch of ass hats I say.

  11. Amanda Rose Okonowski November 11, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

    http://www.ew.com/ew/article/0,,20538068,00.html
    I like the new kelly clarkston cd because shes one of those rear artist that tell it like it is and if she likes a song she puts it on without concern what her producers say. She’s deffinitly come a long way from the sweetheart american idol days and deffinitly become more comfortable in her own skin allowing her to become more bold and produce music that she can now say she repersents. This album is deffinitly differnt from the rest which is the main reason I enjoy it. I’m deffinitly not a big pop fan when it comes to music but I do enjoy songs that have a meaning to them and thats what she tries to do.

  12. Ashlie Detiege November 11, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

    This was a pretty tough question for me, I have never really like too many CD’s as a whole. But I thought back, and came to the conclusion that my favorite CD of all time is probably ‘N Sync’s “No Strings Attached”. That CD had some of my all time favorite songs on it, I must have listened to it thousands of times. When the CD first came out I was 8-years old, I begged my mom for days to take me to the concert. Even after all my begging and pleading I still did not get to go. Instead, I just cranked up the stereo and blared it for her to hear. Oddly enough, this was my go-to CD when I had a bad day. When it was released, it sold 2.4 million copies in the first week. The album featured Lisa “Left Eye” Lopes from TLC, my other favorite group that year. Sadly, she died two years after “No Strings Attached” came out. Although they were considered number two next to the Backstreet Boys they were always my number one.

    • Ashlie Detiege November 11, 2011 at 10:18 pm #

      *http://www.cduniverse.com/search/xx/music/pid/1005018/a/No+Strings+Attached.htm*

  13. Kevin Paredes November 11, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

    Awww man, Animals as Leaders’ self-titled album still has me by the throat. It’s a completely instrumental album that manages to be exhilarating and totally chill at the same time. Despite the lack of vocals, the composition sucks you in with slightly-jazzy tunes, pounding drums, modest synth, and rapid metal riffs. I first listened to this album during the Autumn of 2009, and it became the soundtrack for that season, accompanying me during the best and worst events of that time. It provided something fresh from American metal, a genre I was moving away from. As I type this, I’m listening to my favorite track on this album, On Impulse, reminding me of why Tosin Abasi’s band gives me musical orgasms.

    http://allmetalresource.com/2009/04/25/review-animals-as-leaders-animals-as-leaders-2009/

Leave a Reply

